Union Video Call: Testing your Stream

Now that you have your gear setup and a Union Video Call test event created, let's run do a test class! Feel free to teach a full class if you want, however, this is not necessary. We just want to ensure your camera and audio is working and that you get a feel for what it will be like during your live class. *Note: your test should be at least 2 mins long to produce a replay. 

1. Set your Space 

You want to be sure you're running your test from the location for where you'll be teaching! 

2. Setup your Gear

Grab the device from where you will be hosting your class from (i.e. desktop or laptop) and add any adapters (i.e. phone charger, ethernet). 

Connect your audio to your device like your bluetooth earbuds or wireless mic. 

Go to Chrome and sign-in to you Union account.

You should see your test event in your  Upcoming Sessions.


3. Union Video Call Test

15 Mins before your class is set to begin, you should see the Check-In Button change to View Video Call. Click View Video Call. 

We cannot stress this enough, but you (and your students) must click  Allow permissions to use your microphone and camera. You will not be able to start your class if these have not been accepted.

Once you accept, you'll then be presented with the video call setup page! Consider this your  green room where you can use the video view to ensure your space is in view for your customers. 

Next to your video, you'll be able to see a snapshot of the performance name, date, and time. We've also included a section that shows your internet connection strength. If it is not green, we would recommend troubleshooting your internet or quickly changing your registration (attendance) type if class is close to begin.

If you have a HD camera connected to your device, you can choose which camera should be used. Then, make sure you're connected to your preferred microphone and Speaker.  *Note: currently this is only supported if using Chrome.

You also have the option to Record the class! Leave this setting enabled if you would like a replay to be produced.  If you are choosing to record, Union has added the feature for you to Record Presenter Only. This can come in handy if you'd only like the teachers recording to be visible for the replay! 

Once your settings have been established and you are ready to BEGIN your class, click Start Video Call*NOTE: If you don't see Start Video Call, please try zooming out a little (click the three dots in the right corner of Chrome. Next to Zoom click + or -).

Warning!!! 

Only click Start Video call when you’re ready to begin your class. Currently, starting a video call begins the performance and recording. A single replay can be associated with a performance. Meaning, you cannot choose WHEN a recording can begin. 

In other words, only click Start video call when you are ready to begin your class. Please DO NOT start your video to do a test run and then leave the call. Instead, use your video call startup page (image below) to confirm your video is in frame and your preferred audio source is connected. When you "Leave" and "Rejoin" (and there is no one in the call), the replay that is produced is only of you joining the call and leaving. Your class wouldn’t be recorded because this also ends the performance. You and your students will not be able to join the call. Union is working on this and will provide any updates in your bell notification (gradient tool bar). 


Inside Union Video Call

Below your video, we've added quick task buttons to control your audio, camera, ability to Screen Share, Chat, and end video call. Here you can also keep an eye on your internet connection and confirm what camera and audio devices are being used. 

Microphone Settings

Click the microphone to quickly mute and unmute yourself! If you'd like to check what audio source you're using click the up arrow. You can choose different Microphone and Speaker settings. If you are not using an alternative microphone/speaker (i.e. wireless mic or AirPods), please select Internal Microphone (Built-in). 

Camera Settings

To quickly turn your camera on and off, simply click the camera icon. If you need to check that you're using your HD web camera (i.e. Brio), please click the up arrow against the camera icon. 

Presenter Mode (Single Person Icon)

Presenter mode can be used when your class is ready to begin and you'd like your students to see the teacher's camera only. This will mute all participants including new students that join. The teacher can still see the whole class, but the students only see the teacher! 

What the teacher sees in Presenter Mode

What the Student Sees in Presenter Mode

Screen Share Settings

Currently, screen share is only available for those who are using Chrome as their browser. While we're still working on improving this with Safari, please refrain from sharing your entire window as you could encounter the infinity view (pictured below). To avoid this, you will want to choose what contents you'd like share whether a specific window or tab. Like other video conferencing platforms, you will need to click on the specific content and then select Share. For more details for best practices for screen sharing, please visit our article for Sharing your Screen with Union's Video Call Feature.

Conversation Mode (Multiple Person Icon)

This puts your class back into gallery view and your students can use their microphone to communicate. 


Chat and Attendee Features

When you click the message icon, this will instantly open the chat (as it would for a livestream). As your students enter, you'll see the participants number rise. Click on the person icon to check out more settings!

Spotlight Feature

An admin with your org or the teacher who is "leading the class" will have the option to Spotlight themselves or other students! So if you have a model or need to check in on specific student, you can spotlight their account to bring them front and center! As a reminder, if you need to revert to the gallery view, you will need to Unspotlight yourself or the student or just quickly click Conversation Mode on the main menu bar. 

Participant Controls

The teacher leading the class has the opportunity to Mute/Unmute specific students, spotlight them (as mentioned above) or to remove them from the class. Simply click the three dots to show the options! 

At the bottom, you can quickly choose to Mute All or Unmute All


Leave/End Call

Once your class has completed, click the Red Phone icon to   End the Call. You will be prompt to Leave or End For All. *Ending the video call will stop recording your class. Choose End For All if the class is truly over. 

If there are other members in the call, you can choose LEAVE in cases where you will need to re-join the class. Because there are members in the call, your class should still remain active and the recording will continue.

Duration Warning

Currently, you can go over 30 mins past your scheduled class before the call will automatically end. Union gives you a warning at the 25 minute mark.

To learn how to view your replay, visit View your Union Video Call Replay

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.